top of page
Search

Twisted fairy tale: Part 3

Updated: Mar 8, 2021


 

Continuing with my twisted fairy tale project to construct together a garment piece based on my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens, I am going to begin with constructing together of garment textile jewellery piece based on this fairy tale. This allows me to practice designing and creating together a textile garment jewellery piece based on my chosen twisted fairy tale, The seven Ravens. I will be able to practice and understand how to draft and construct together my own pattern pieces, practicing creating a garment textiles jewellery piece based on my chosen twisted fairy tale The Seven Ravens, by performing elements, colours and features I associate from this twisted fairy tale. By doing this project it allows me to practice and understand how to design together a garment piece, which helps me towards eventually creating my final garment piece based on the Grimm brother's fairy tale, The Seven Ravens.

 

Twisted fairy Tale textiles accessory

I have been given four weeks to design and create a magnificent textiles fabric accessory (this could be a necklace, small capelet, wrist cuff or headdress) which performs and expresses my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens. My fabric textile accessory should be uniquely captivating, presenting a conceptual style which communicates the fairy tale of The Seven Ravens. I will attend online lessons which will educate and teach me how to construct together and create pattern pieces to form a fabric textile jewellery piece together. I will analyse my mood board based on my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens, and assess what styles, elements and colours I included. This is so that it can help me research for pictures of textile jewellery based on the styles, elements and colours shown within my mood board, which then allows me to gather together initial ideas and designs, to then eventually construct together a fabric textile jewellery piece, based on The Seven Ravens.

 

Krista Raak

I really like the textual details within her work which creates an ancient historical style. The Textures are created through a series of layerings of different materials such as lace, beads, feathers and more, performing a magnificent elegant styled look. The use of lacing throughout her work creates an old styled fashion presentation, which looks delicately captivating. Her work has hugely inspired me from the use of creating an old fashioned styled look. Therefore, I want to select a few elements from her work which she uses, to construct within my textiles piece based on The Seven Ravens.

 

Fanny and Odette

Her work is admirably captivating from the ancient photography she captures within her textile jewellery pieces. She uses old photographs to capture within her created textile jewellery, and traps it within surrounded hand embroidery and layerings of materials. This creates an elegant beautifying styled look, which has inspired me hugely to want to incorporate within my textiles piece based on The Seven Ravens.

 

Betty Pepper

Her work is admirable because it is very sustainable and echo friendly towards the environment, due to her using old and found materials. I really admire the use of wire within her work as it creates a delicate piece of textiles jewellery which looks peculiarly ancient but elegantly beautiful. Her work has hugely inspired me to want to incorporate wiring techniques within my textiles jewellery based on The Seven Ravens, to execute a similar style to her work.

 

Jan Knibbs

Jan knibbs creates bursting colourful pieces of textile jewellery which are hugely admirable and gorgeously put together. Her work is beautifully created with bold colours which brighten up her textiles jewellery pieces magnificently. The colourful bursting colours within her work has hugely inspired me to want to incorporate busting colours (which I associate from my chosen fairy tale) within my textiles jewellery piece based on The Seven Ravens.

 

Textile processes to create elements from the seven ravens

I am going to experiment in varying ways to produce elements and features from my chosen fairy tale created through textile processes. Elements which Stand out to me within my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens are the ravens, the sun, the moon, the stars and the farthers golden ring. I am going to research and discover creative craft ways of recreating these elements through textile processes, to perform within my fabric textile jewellery piece. I will also use colours within my fabric textile jewellery piece, which I associate with The Seven Ravens. Colours I associate with the seven ravens are black, red/orange, white and gold.

 

Yarn wool feathers

I have been researching textile process to create feathers, because this is an element I associate within The Seven Ravens. This textile process is a method of recreating a feather using wool yarn and wire. The process begins with tying small pieces of yarn onto wire until its full and adequate like a feather. You then brush through the yarn with a Combe to make the textile yarn feathers bristles look more softened, realistic and unique. Once you have done this process, you then cut and trim the feather of wool yarn to create more of a feather shape. This textile process is hugely complementing and fitting for my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens. The textile yarn feather mimics the features and elements from a real feather, and would look extremely magnificent on my fabric textiles jewellery piece. I want to include this textile process within my fabric textiles jewellery piece because, I feel like it would create a spectacular representation of raven feathers, communicating my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens.

 

Recreating colours I associate with The Seven Ravens

I have researched into fabric and material dying, and what I could do to recreate the colours I associate from The Seven Ravens. From my research there are many dying techniques and process which can be done to perform the colours from my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens on my designed textile jeweller piece. These dying methods and processes are tie dying, poly block printing, heat transferring and silk painting. However, because I am working from home, I do not have the resources to create these dying processes. Therefore, I will have to die the materials and fabrics using water colours, as this is a colour dying resource I have at home. Using water colours to recreate colours I associate from The Seven Ravens, allows me to perform all the colours I associate with my chosen twisted fairy tale. The water colours, also allows me to paint images instead of just dying the material. Therefore, I could paint on a sun in the colour orange, as the colour orange and the sun are elements I associate within my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens.

 

felt fibres in bubble wrap I have researched into a textile process which consists of stuffing bubble wrap with felt fibres. This textile process looks magnificently peculiar and unique, and would be a fascinating process to include in my designed fabric jewellery piece. I could use coloured felt fibres which withhold the colours that I associate with my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens. The bubble wrap stuffed with felt fibres would create a textual unique styled look, which would fit gorgeously within my designed textile jewellery piece.

 

Hand embroidery I could use delicate hand embroidery techniques onto my designed textile jewellery garment to recreate the colours and elements I associate with my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens. I could use different stitches to recreate features and elements from my chosen fairy tale. The chain stitch would create a gorgeous addition onto my designed textile jewellery garment because of the delicacy and unique features it creates. The feather stitch would also create a fabulous addition onto my textiles jewellery piece because it recreates a feather look which is an element I associate from The Seven Ravens.

 

Creating a sustainable textiles accessory

During the process of this mini project, I want to create my fabric textile jewellery piece to be sustainable as possible, preventing an increasing impact onto the environment and global warming. Therefore, I will use recycled materials, fabrics and clothing to construct together to make my textile jewellery piece. Some materials I have found around my house to use within my designed textile jewellery garment is old clothing, bubble wrap, felt fibres, old jewellery, lace and beads. I am going to research what I could produce out of my found materials based on elements and colours from The Seven Ravens, to then eventually produce within my fabric textile jewellery piece.

 

Old jewellery

By finding old jewellery to produce within my designed textile jewellery garment piece, it allows me to be sustainable, preventing the increase of the pollution and global warming impacts on the environment. The old jewellery found in my house can be used to create additional layering and textual features, with a beautified classy styled look. The old jewellery I found in my house was necklaces and bangles. I could use the old jewellery to create a capelets tie, or gorgeous textual details onto my designed textile jewellery garment piece.


 

Found materials

I decided to search around my house to find and seek out old materials which can be used within my textile jewellery garment piece. The materials I found was bubble wrap, felt fibres, black feathers, garden wire, wool, beads, ribbons and gold lace. I thought these found materials fit perfectly with my chosen fairy tale because they withheld the elements and colours I associate with The Seven Ravens. By searching for materials around my house to produce together within my textiles jewellery garment piece, it allows me to be sustainable because I am reusing old materials to produce within my textiles jewellery garment. This prevents causing impact on the environment, which prevents the increasing of pollution and global warming.

 

Found old clothing materials I found old clothing materials to create my designed textile jewellery garment piece out of, which allows me to be sustainable towards the environment, preventing the increase in pollution and global warming. The found clothing materials I found were materials from old tops, dresses, bras, scrap materials and bedsheets. By finding found materials in my household, it allows me to produce a magnificent textile jewellery garment piece which is sustainable and environmentally friendly.

 

A collage of Textiles jewellery that inspires me


 

Initial Ideas for my textiles jewellery piece


For my inistail design ideas I want to create a textiles jewellery one shoulder capelet which incorporates all the elements and colours I associate from my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens. My initial design idea for my textiles jewellery one sided capelet will incorporate raven feathers, the sun, the moon, the stars, and a golden ring. This is because these are elements I associate with The Seven Ravens. I will also include the colours I associate with these elements which is red/orange, white, yellow and gold. To recreate some of the colours and elements I associate with the seven ravens, I have searched for materials around my house so that I am also being sustainable when creating my textiles jewellery piece, and not causing increasing pollution and global warming effects towards the environment. The materials I found were black feathers, gold lace, beads, garden wire, ribbons, wool, bubble wrap and wool fibres. These materials can help create the elements and colours I associate with my chosen twisted fairy tale The Seven Ravens, and construct together to execute a magnificent textiles jewellery one sided capelet.

 

My designs

For my textile jewellery design based on my chosen twisted fairy tale The Seven Ravens, I have created and illustrated one shoulder capelet textiles jewellery designs inspired by the work of Krista Raak. I thoroughly admired Krista Raak's work through the use of her lace and beading incorporated throughout her elegantly unique pieces. Therefore, I decided to design and illustrate one shoulder capelets which withheld lacing and beading, performing elements from Krista Raaks work. However, I wanted to capture the elements and features throughout my designs from my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens. Therefore, I illistrated elements such as the sun, moon, stars, a golden ring and raven feathers as these are elements I associate within The Seven Ravens. When creating my illiustarted textile jewellery design, I wanted to perform elements from the 14th century as this is the time in which the seven ravens is set in. I illustrated frills and lacing within my designs to perform the elements from the 14th century. This created a magnificently beatified style within my jewellery textile design piece based on the Grimm Brothers fairy tale, The Seven Ravens. I thoroughly admired my design because it presented historical elements from the time in which my chosen fairy tale was set and based in, and also performed the elements I associate from The Seven Ravens. I really want to recreate and execute my design in my textiles jewellery piece, because it magnificently created historical elements from the time in which my chosen twisted fairy tale was set and based in, and also performed elements and features within The Seven Ravens.

 

Cutting out a tissue paper pattern for my textiles jewellery piece


To begin constructing my textiles jewellery piece together, I first began to make a pattern out of tissue paper for the textiles jewellery piece I was going to make. I first was taught how to draft together a pattern for my textiles jewellery piece by my tutor. My tutor taught me how to draft up a pattern on tissue paper using a maniquin or a person. Using tissue paper to create my textiles jewellery pattern piece on is an extremely good substitute to pattern paper, and allows me to draft together a perfect pattern piece for my textiles jewellery. I decided to draft a one sided shoulder capelet pattern piece, as this is what I created in my initial design for my textiles jewellery project based on my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens. By drafting together my pattern piece on a mannequin and a person, it allows me to create an accurate pattern piece for my textile jewellery. I decided to draft up my one shoulder textiles jewellery capelet pattern piece onto my mannequin. After I had done this process, I then fitted my pattern piece onto my own shoulder. This was to get an idea of fitting and sizing of my textiles jewellery one shoulder capelet, so I could create a textiles jewellery piece to be as accurate in size as possible. Once I had drafted together my pattern piece for my textiles jewellery, I then neatened it up and curved the edges so that I could produce an accurate pattern piece which would fit my shoulder perfectly. Once I had finished neatening the pattern piece up, and curving the edges so that it could fit my shoulder perfectly, I then cut the tissue paper pattern piece out and placed it on my mannequins shoulder and my own shoulder. This was to see if it was the correct sizing that I wanted it to be to fit the mannequins shoulder and my shoulder perfectly. I was really pleased with the sizing of my pattern piece, because it executed a perfect one sided shoulder capelet, and draped over my shoulder and the mannequins shoulder successfully, with the right amount of draping.

 

When doing this process, I wanted to make sure that I was delicate so that I could draft together a neat professional one sided capelet piece for my textile jewellery garment. I wanted to make sure I drafted the pattern successfully by using the mannequin to help guide and create a magnificent textile jewellery pattern piece. I was over all pleased with how my pattern piece turned out for my jewellery textiles garment. My pattern piece had successfully been drafted and created together, performing a lucrative pattern piece for my textiles jewellery one sided shoulder capelet.

 

Cutting out my tissue paper pattern from my chosen material


For my textiles jewellery garment, I am going to use white cotton material from an old bed sheet, as this allows me to be stainable towards the environment, preventing an increase of pollution and global warming. To begin cutting out my tissue paper pattern from my chosen white cotton material, I first folded my white cotton material in half, and then pinned and secured the tissue paper pattern piece in place. I did this process because it allows me to cut out two pattern pieces from my white cotton bed sheet material. This allows me to have a front piece for my one sided shoulder capelet and a lining piece.

 

When doing this process, I wanted to make sure that I neatly pinned my tissue paper pattern piece onto my chosen white bed sheet material, making sure I appropriately positioned it onto my material which allows me to save as much material as possible. From doing this process, it allows me to save my material which is being sustainable, preventing an increasing risk of pollution and global warming towards the environment. I also wanted to make sure that I successfully pinned my drafted pattern piece onto my material, so that I could successfully cut around it with neat edges. This allows me to have neat professional cut outs of my drafted together one sided shoulder capelet.

 

Watercolour painting my shoulder capelet jewellery piece


To begin recreating my initial illustrated design on my shoulder capelet, I first decided to paint on elements which I associate within my chosen twisted fairy tale, The seven Ravens using water colours. To Begin this process, I began to draw out a sun and a moon using pencil as these are elements seen within my chosen fairy tale. I wanted to position these elements onto my shoulder caplete in an appropriate position, which matched my illustrated designed shoulder capelet. I decided to position the sun and the moon in the middle of my shoulder caplete as this was the place they were illustrated within my initial design. Once I had successfully drawn out the sun and the moon, I then began to paint them in using the appropriate colours which I associate with them from The Seven Ravens. I painted the moon in using blue and yellow shades of watercolour's as these are the colours which I associate with the moon from The Seven Ravens. I then decided to paint the sun in using red, orange and yellow shades of watercolours because these are colours I associate with he sun from The Seven Ravens.


 

When doing this process I wanted to make sure that I was slow and controlled, because I wanted my watercolour sun and moon to be painted on neat and professionally. I was overall pleased with my quality control of my water coloured painted on sun and moon. The colours executed elements and features from my chosen twisted fairy tale and performed a magnificent look on my shoulder capelet.

 

Stitching into the painted in watercolored sun and moon


Once I had painted in a watercolour sun and moon, I then began stitching into the water coloured sun and moon using embroidery thread. To begin this process I first stitched into the watercolour moon using a blue embroidery thread. This was to apppropiately match the colours of the painted in moon. I decided to stitch around the watercolour moon to create a bold outline contrast of different shades of blue. This allows me to creates textures within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece, and also creates a beautiful contrast in shades of blue within the watercolour moon. After I had finished stitching into the water coloured moon, I then began to stitch into the water coloured sun. To begin this process, I used orange embroidery thread which matched the colours of the water coloured sun perfectly. I then began to stitch into the painted sun to create additional textures and colours within the painted sun. I then decided to stitch into the water coloured sun further using black embroidery thread to create a bold solid outline. This created a magnificent addition to my water coloured sun, which badly performed the elemnts from my chosen twisted fairy tale on my shoulder capelet textiles jewellery piece.

 

When ding this process I wanted to make sure that I was slow and control to create neat quality control embroidered stitching within the painted sun and moon. I was over all pleased with how the stitched in painted sun and moon turned out, because the additional stitched in embroidery performed a magnificent texture performance which fit perfectly within my shoulder capelet.

 

Stitching in applique


For my textiles jewellery shoulder capelet piece, I wanted to sew in applique as I felt this would create a gorgeously executed addition within my design textiles jewellery piece based on my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Sven Ravens. Therefore, I decided to buy some appliqué to use within my textiles jewellery shoulder capelet. When trying to find appliqué, I wanted to seek out an appliqué which withheld the colours I associate within The Seven Ravens. I found a gorgeous elegant floral appliqué with tinges of blue shades within it which I felt were colours of the elements within The Seven Ravens, which would fit gorgeously within my textiles jewellery piece. To begin stitching in my chosen appliqué, I first cut my appliqué into shape to then position in place on my shoulder capelet textiles jewellery piece. I decided to cut my appliqué in a oval shape and positioned it onto my shoulder capelet in a position which I thought matched my illustrated design drawing piece of my textiles shoulder capelet. Once I had positioned my cut out appliqué in place on my shoulder capelet, I then secured in in place with pins. Once I had successfully pinned my appliqué in place on my shoulder capelet, I then stitched it in place on the sewing machine. The appliqué created an overall magnificent affect within my shoulder jewellery capelet piece, which looked spectacular memorising, executing the elements from The Seven Ravens hugely.

 

When doing this process, I wanted to make sure that I was slow and controlled on the sewing machine so that I could create neat proffesional quality control on my one shoulder jewellery capelet piece. I decide to stitch the appliqué in using black thread on the sewing machine as this colour would be less likely seen within the appliqué on my one shoulder capelet piece. I was extremely pleased with how my chosen appliqué turned out within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece. The tinges of blue within the appliqué screamed the colours of the elements which I associate within my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens. The appliqué created a magnificently elegant sophisticated look, which fit appropriately within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece, based on The Seven Ravens.

 

Creating the yarn feathers


For my shoulder capelet jewellery piece based on The Seven Ravens, I wanted to recreate the elements which I associate from my chosen twisted fairy tale. Therefore, I decided to create yarn feathers, beeause feathers are an element which I assocciate within The Seven Ravens. To begin this process, I first gathered together garden wire and wool, because these are the materials which are used to create yarn feathers.

I firstly cut a 60cm piece of gardern wire and tied one end to a steady object. I decided to tie the end of the wire to my half filled water bottle, as this was stern and held the wire in place. I then tied the other end of the wire to a pair of scissors, pulling the wire tight, so that it was straight and stiff in place. By doing this process, it allows me to easily put together and create my yarn feathers for my shoulder capelet jewellery piece. After I had secured the garden wire in place, I then began to wrap blue wool around three of my fingers continuously. Once I had wrapped the wool around many times, I cut it from my three fingers. By doing this process, it allows me to create equal length strips of wool for my yarn feathers. Once I had cut out the wool strips for my yarn feathers, I then began tying the wool strips in twos onto the garden wire. I did this process until the garden wire was full with the strips of wool and it replicated feather features.

Once I was satisfied with the amount of tied strips of wool on the garden wire, I then cut the wire in place and folded it at the top, tucking it in so that the strips of wool tied on the wire could securely stay fixed in place. I trimmed the strips of wool tied onto the wire to recreate a feather shape. When doing this process, I made sure I had a picture of a feather to help guide and help me recreate a feather shape for my created yarn feather. After I had trimmed the tied strips of wool on the wire in a feather shape, I then made sure all the tied strips of wool were on the correct sides before I brushed over them with a comb. To do this process, I brushed in a diagonal motion on the strips of wool, gradually brushing closer to the wire. This process caused the wool to pull and fray creating characteristics of a real feather. I repeated this process multiple times to create a few yarn feathers for my textiles shoulder capelet jewellery piece. This technique allows me to create gorgeously elegant yarn feathers which communicate features and elements of real raven feathers, as well as performing elements which I associate within my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens.

 

When creating my yarn feathers for my shoulder capelet jewellery piece, I wanted to make sure that I was precise and careful to create exquisite yarn feathers to replicate raven feathers which I associate from The Seven Ravens. I was extremely pleased with the results of the yarn feathers I created. The choice of using blue wool echoed colours which I associate within my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens. The blue wool also replicated colours seen within real raven feathers from the tinges of blue which can be seen on raven feathers when light is reflected off them.

 

Stitching my yarn feathers onto my jewellery shoulder capelet


Once I had created my yarn feathers, I then began to sew and secure them in place onto my shoulder capelet. I decided to place the yarn feathers around the stitched in appliqué, as I felt they fit the colours of the appliqué perfectly and looked elegantly divine in this positioned area. After I had placed the yarn feathers in place on my stitched in appliqué on my shoulder capelet, I then began to stitch the yarn feathers in the portions which I felt they looked best in. To begin stitching in the yarn feathers, I decided to use a blue embroidered thread to match the colours of the wool on the yarn feathers. I decided to use embroidered thread because it is much stronger than ordinary thread, and would hold the yarn feathers appropriately in position. After I had stitched in a few of the yarn feathers around the appliqué on my shoulder capelet, I then began to stitch on fake black feathers which I had found at home in my crafts drawer. I then decided to stitch on grey feathers which were originally old feather earring which I decided to us within my shoulder capelet. By using found material around my house to use within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece, it allows me to be sustainable towards the environment, preventing increasing risk of pollution and global warming. The stitched in yarn feathers I created performed a spectacular unique style on my shoulder capelet, performing elemnts from The Seven Ravens magnificently. The additional found feathers around my house performed contrasting colours and textures from the yarn feathers, which mimicked textures and colours seen within real raven feathers. The old feather earring within my shoulder capelet performed an elegant beautified styled look, which represent elements seen within my chosen twisted fairy tale hugely.

 

When doing this process, I wanted to make sure that I positioned the yarn feathers appropriately, before stitching and securing them in place on my shoulder capelet. I wanted to make sure I carefully stitched and secured them in place so that I could have neat proffesional quality control, performing a neat proffesional shoulder capelet jewellery piece, based on The Seven Ravens. I also wanted to make sure that appropriately positioned the fake black feathers and the earring feathers onto my shoulder capelet before securely stitching them down in place. This allows me to create a neat professional shoulder capelet jewellery piece based on my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens. I was over all pleased with how the stitched in yarn feathers and other feathers turned out. They created an elegant beautified 3D effect style around the appliqué on my shoulder capelet jewellery piece, and performed elements from The Seven Ravens magnificently.

 

Creating gathering for my shoulder capelet jewellery piece


For my shoulder capelet textiles jewellery piece, I wanted to create a frill along the bottom because this is what I illustrated within my design drawing of my shoulder capelet based on my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens. To begin creating a frill for the hem on my shoulder capelet, I first selected a purple satin material which was left over old scrap material I found in my house. I then cut a meter strip of this purple satin material with a width of 15cm. After I had cut out a strip I folded it in on itself with right sides together. I then pinned the ends of the strips securing them in place so that I could eventually stitch them together on the sewing machine.

After I had stitched both ends of the folded strip, I then turned the strip the right way round so both right sides of the satin material was on show. I then began hand stitching the top open side of the strip using the gathering technique. To begin this process, I began stitching down the strip with a loose running stitch. While doing this process I pulled the strip to gather it gradually as I sewed along. Once I had successfully gathered together the whole strip, I made sure that I didn't knot of the end so that when it came to sewing the gathered frill strip onto my shoulder capelet, I could gradually pull and pin the gathers appropriately in place. To begin pinning the gathered frill strip onto my shoulder capelet piece, I first pinned one side of the frill gathered strip to one end, and pinned the other side of the frill strip to the other end. I then gradually eased and pulled the gathered frill strip around the hem of my shoulder capelet, pinning and securing it in place on the hem of my shoulder capelet. Once I had securely pinned the gathered frill strip along the hem line on my shoulder capelet, I then began to sew and secure the gathered frill strip in place on the sewing machine. Once the gathered frill strip had securely been sewn in place on the hem line of my shoulder capelet, it created an elegant divine styled look, which fit perfectly against all the textures and details within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece. The satin purple material performed a spectacular contrast of colour from the colour of the appliqué, feathers and water coloured sun and moon. The contrasting colours complimented each other magnificently, creating a fabulously unique shoulder capelet piece with mezmorising bold colours, representing elements from The Seven Ravens hugely.

 

When creating my gathered frill strip for the hem line of my shoulder capelet, I wanted to make sure that a was slow and controlled to create overall neat quality control which creates a neat proffesional outcome on my shoulder capelet jewellery piece. I was overall pleased with how the gathered frill along the hem line turned out. It created a miraculously elegant unique style within my jewellery piece which fit perfectly along with the elements from my chosen twisted fairy tale, I had recreated on my textiles jewellery shoulder capelet piece. By creating a gathered frill within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece, it performs elements and features seen within the 14th century which was the time in which my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens was set and based in.

 

Painting on a watercolour Raven


After I had stitched on the gathered frill onto the hem line of my shoulder capelet jewellery piece, I then decided to fill up the spaces on my shoulder capelet . To do this process I decided to paint on a water colour raven on the back of my shoulder capelet piece, to fill in more spaces of my jewllery textiles piece with elements I associate from The Seven Ravens. To begin this process, I first lightly sketched a raven outline onto my sholulder capelet jewellery piece. To do this process, I got a picture up of a raven so it was an easy guide to help me recreate a raven outline onto my shoulder capelet piece. I used a pencil to lightly sketch out the raven outline and then eventually used watercolours to pant in the drawn out raven. When painting in the raven with watercolours, I wanted to use colours I associate with a raven so I could recreate colours and elements seen within The Seven Ravens, within the watercolored raven on my shoulder capelet jewellery piece. I decided to use shades of blue, grey and black watercolours for the sketched out raven on my shoulder capelet jewellery piece. To create a watercolour raven I decided to use the bristles of my paint Brush to create a feathered affect which looked uniquely fabulously performing elements from The Seven Ravens in an abstract performance. The watercolored raven on my shoulder capelet jewellery piece created a divine outcome which created fantasy features and elements from The Seven Ravens. My decision of using shades of blue, black and grey watercolours to paint the raven in performed a bold colour pallet of colours which fiercely imprinted on my shoulder capelet jewellery piece, performing a spectacular mythical look communicating elements of a real raven.

 

When doing this process, I wanted to make sure I was precise and careful, to create a delicately painted watercolored raven which communicates elements and features from my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens. My quality control of the watercolored raven was fabulously neat and professional and created a delicate style within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece. I was over all extremely pleased with how the watercolour raven turned out on my shoulder caplet jewellery piece. The delicate brush marks I created within the watercolour raven performed textures seen within a real raven, creating a unique realistic performance within my shoulder capelet piece.

 

Stitching into the watercolored Raven

I wanted to create a textual look within my watercolored raven on my shoulkder capelet piece. Therefore, I decided to stitch into the watercolored raven using textiles stitching techniques. To begin this process, I decided to hand stitch in feathers onto the painted raven using blue embroidery thread. I decided to hand embroider in feathers onto the painted in raven to create more textual features within my shoulder caplet piece, as well as creating more textual features seen on a raven. I hand stitched the feathers in using blue embroidery thread as this colour would stand out strongly against the colours used within the watercolored raven. The colour blue is also seen within tinges of raven feathers when sunlight is reflected of them. The hand embroidered feathers created a textual fitting look which communicated features of a real raven significantly. I then decided to stitch into the watercolored raven using the feather stitch technique, as this would create more textual surfaces over the watercolored raven, performing elements from my chosen twisted fairy tale hugely. I decided to stitch in the feather stitch onto the painted raven using black thread, as I felt this colour fit perfectly against the watercolored raven and performed a bold textual feature on the painted raven. This created a beatified delicate look which performed textual features within the watercolored raven on my shoulder capelet piece. I also decided to use small pieces of appliqué within my watercolored raven to create more textual elements within the painted raven, so that I could recreate elements and features of a real raven significantly. I decided to use small pieces of appliqué on the painted raven which I pinned and securely sewed in place. The decision of using appliqué within the watercolored raven, performed a peculiar, magical, magnificent style which boldly stood out within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece, performing elements seen within The Seven Ravens magnificently. I also decided to stitch on pieces of golden lace onto the watercolored raven to create more textual features and elements, which created a delicate elegant style within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece.

 

While creating textual features within the watercolored raven on my shoulder capelet piece, I wanted to make sure that I was slow and controlled to gain neat and precise quality control, so that my shoulder capelet jewellery piece can be presentable and professional as possible. I was hugely pleased with the results of the textual features and elements I created within the watercolored raven on my shoulder capelet piece. The textual features communicated elements seen within a real raven and elements seen within my chosen twisted fairy take, The Seven Ravens. The delicate hand embroidered feathers and the feather stitching technique created delicate unique features, performing a textual surface on my shoulder capelet jewellery piece, presenting the elements which I associate from The Seven Ravens.

 

Stitching Angelina Fibres onto my shoulder capelet


I wanted to create various textual features within my shoulder capelet textiles jewllery piece. Therefore, I decided to use pieces of Angelina fibres which I had originally experimented and practised making at college, when I learnt the textile process of creating Angelina fibres, and how to manipulate them using a heat gun. Because I had left over samples of my practised out Angelina fibres, I decided to select a sample piece of one of my experimented Angelina fibres to use within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece. I decided to select a sample of one of my Angelina fibres which matched the colours I associate within my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens, and also matched the colours which had been used already within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece.

I selected an Angelina fibre piece which withheld green and blue tinges within it which fit alongside with the colours already within my designed shoulder capelet jewellery piece, based on The Seven Ravens. I decided to place the Angelina fibre piece over my shoulder caplelet to decide where to place it so I could eventually securely sew it in place. I placed it over areas which was lacking textile techniques and needed textual elements and features. I decided to securely pin the Angelina fibre piece on the neckline of my shoulder capelet piece. Once I had securely pinned the Angelina fibre piece onto the neckline of my shoulder capelet piece, I then began to stitch it in place using black thread. I felt this colour of thread would less easily be seen within the colours of the Angelina fibre piece. The stitched in Angelina fibre piece within my shoulder capelet created a mysterious peculiar fantasy styled look which performed a beautifying shoulder caplet jewellery piece, based on my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens.

 

When doing this process I wanted to make sure that I was slow and controlled to gain neat quality control, so that I can produce a presentable textiles jewellery piece to be professionally done. I was overall pleased with how the stitched in Angelina fibre turned out on my shoulder capelet jewellery piece. The tinges of colours within the Angelina fibre piece performed colours of the elements I associate within The Seven Ravens, and complimented the colours within the shoulder capelet jewellery piece magnificently.

 

Stitching old Jewellery onto my shoulder capelet


After I had finished securely stitching the angerlina fibres onto the collar of my shoulder capelet jewellery piece, I then began to stitch on old jewellery to create more textual elements onto my shoulder capelet jewellery piece. I found an old box of jewellery and selected necklaces and bracelets which I thought would fit my shoulder capelet jewellery piece based on my chosen twisted fairy tale magnificently. I selected a long dangly necklace to use as a tie for my shoulder capelet jewellery piece, because I felt this would create an elegant and unique style on my shoulder capelet jewellery piece based on The Seven Ravens. To begin creating the necklace tie for my shoulder capelet jewellery piece, I first measured the necklace out so it reached the front side of my shoulder capelet and the back side of my shoulder capelet. I then measured the necklace out on me so that it was long enough to get over my head. Once I had worked out the length that the necklace had to be to fit across each top end of my shoulder capelet, and to be able to fit over my head, I then cut the necklace to the correct size and stitched it in place on the front of my shoulder caplete and the back of my shoulder capelet.

This created an elegant beautified style which mimicked elements and features from Krista Raaks work, and also presented a similarity to the illustrated designed drawing I designed of my shoulder capelet jewellery textiles piece, based on my chosen twisted fairy tale The Seven Ravens. I also decided to use another old necklace and stitched it onto my shoulder caplete piece over the Angelina fibre around the collar. I decided to stitch this old necklace in this specific area because it was a fixed curved shape and outlined the curve of the collar line on my shoulder capelet jewellery piece. Once I had successfully secured the necklace over the Angelina fibre piece on the collar line, I made sure that it was securely fixed in an appropriate position which fit the curve of the collar line on my shoulder capelet piece perfectly, creating a unique bold outline. I was extremely pleased with how this turned out. The old necklace outlined the collar line of my created shoulder capelet piece, and performed a magnificent appearance within my created shoulder capelet jewellery piece. after I had stitched the old necklace around the collar line of my shoulder capelet, I then decided to use beads and gems from old bracelets to stitch onto areas, to create more textual elements within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece. I decided to cut up an old bracelet so I could use the beads and the gems in areas which I thought were lacking and could do with more colour and textures. I decided to sew in some beads and gems in areas by the watercolored raven, as there were a few blank areas which I could fill with beads and old jewellery pieces to create more textual elements and features. This performed a divine glamorous styled look within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece, which created an elegant textiles jewellery piece performing my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens magnificently.

 

When doing this process, I wanted to make sure that I was careful and precise to gain neat professional quality control. I was extremely pleased with how the old jewellery turned out on my shoulder capelet textiles jewellery piece. The necklace used as a tie for my shoulder capelet piece created an elegant magnificent styled look and fit perfectly with the elements within my shoulder capelet piece. The old necklace which I sewed to fit around the collar line performed a bold extravagant outline around the collar line of my shoulder capelet piece. The beads and the gems from the old bracelets performed a glamorous beautified effect, and fit along with the elements within my shoulder capelet piece magnificently.

 

Stitching on ribbon to tie the shoulder capelet together


After stitching the old jewellery in place on my shoulder capelet piece, I decided to stitch in ribbon to use as an additional tie for my shoulder caplet piece. To begin this process, I cut a 120cm section of red ribbon and cut this in half so I had two 60cm strips of red ribbon. I then pinned each ribbon strip on the end of the front and back collar line of my shoulder capelet textiles jewllery piece. I then stitched each strip securely in place on the ends of the front and back of the collar line on my shoulder capelet piece. I decided to hand stitch this in using black thread. I decided to use black thread because the thread wouldn't be seen within my shoulder capelet piece due to all the elements within it which helped cover the stitches on the ribbon. After I had finished stitching the ribbon securely onto the the front and back of the collar line of my shoulder caplete piece, it performed a classy unique styled look within my shoulder caplete textiles jewellery piece based on my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens. By tying the strips of red ribbon in a bow it pulled my capelet shoulder jewellery piece together, and performed an elegant sophisticated style within my shoulder caplete textiles jewellery piece based on The Seven Ravens.

 

When doing this process, I wanted to make sure that I was precise and carful so that I could gain neat professional quality control, so that my shoulder caplet piece could be professionally made and created. I was over all pleased with how the ribbon bow ties turned out on my shoulder capelet jewellery piece. The ribbon ties joint the shoulder caplete jewellery piece beautifully together and created an elegant sophisticated bow which elegantly matched the elements within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece perfectly.

 

My shoulder capelet jewellery piece evaluation


Completing this mini brief project to create a textiles jewellery piece based on my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens, was hugely enjoyable which enabled me to use my imaginative and creative side. I thoroughly enjoyed designing a textiles jewellery piece based on my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens and recreating my design to bring it to life. I am extremely proud with my complete textiles jewerly piece, as I feel I have created a magnificently sophisticated shoulder capelet textiles jewellery piece, which withholds elements from my chosen twisted fairy tale hugely. The decision of creating a shoulder capelet for my textile jewellery piece project was a fabulous idea, as it helped carry the elements from my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens within in it. The elements within my shoulder capelet piece performed a unique sophisticated style and communicated my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens beautifully. The decision of recreating elements from The Seven Ravens using watercolours performed an elegant abstract style within my design, which looked outstandingly fabulous. By using watercolours to recreate elements form The Seven Ravens, it performed bold strong colours within my shoulder capelet piece, creating a magnificent performance within my shoulder capelet. The frill along the hem line of my shoulder caplet jewllery piece, screamed features and styles from 14th century fashion, which was the time in which The Seven Ravens was set and based in. Therefore, by me creating a frill within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece, it performs historical features and fits perfectly along with the elements within my shoulder capelet piece. The additional old jewellery performed through my shoulder caplet jewellery piece, presented a delicate sophisticated styled look which created textual features and elements within my shoulder capelet, and fit alongside the elements within my shoulder capelet piece appropriately. The decision of using an old necklace to create a tie for my shoulder caplete performed an elegant sophisticated styled look which fit appropriately with all the colours and elements within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece. My created yarn feathers and other feathers within my shoulder capelet jewellery piece presented the elements from The Seven Ravens strongly, and created divine textual features and elements within my shoulder capelet jewellery. I was over all extremely pleased with my finished textile accessory piece, because I was able to recreate my chosen twisted fairy tale, The Seven Ravens through a shoulder capelet textiles jewellery piece, magnificently communicating the fairy tale of The Seven Ravens in the style of textile jewellery.

 

My Textile Accessory photoshoot


I had to create a photoshoot of my fairy tale textiles accessory and capture all the elements and textual features it withheld. I decided to wear my textiles accessory capturing myself wearing my shoulder capelet jewellery piece I created. I decided to picture myself modelling out my created and designed shoulder capelet piece based on The Seven Ravens, because I was heavily influenced by Krista Raaks textile accessories being modelled out in most of her photographs capturing her magnificent work. I wanted to model out my created textiles shoulder capelet jewellery accessory in an urban outdoor environment, to recreate a magical fairy tale background style theme which fits with my chosen twisted fairy tale which my textile accessory is based on; The Seven Ravens.


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page